And so it begins…

12 January 2014

This is my first ever effort at blogging. I have discovered a new friend. Unfortunately, he doesn’t know i exist. Sigh. He’s a handsome fellow with an incredible wealth of knowledge. I give you Steve of Nerd Fitness (http://www.nerdfitness.com). My guru has taught me many, many things in the last couple of months. First:  stop collecting underpants (http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2012/04/05/underpants-gnomes/). Second:  to get started, just do something. it doesn’t have to be perfect, it just has to be (http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2013/08/13/how-the-heck-do-i-get-started/) Thirdly:  accountability (http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2013/01/24/challenge-yourself-upgrade-yourself/). This blog effort is my attempt at accountability. (http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2011/07/07/how-to-track-progress/) There’s a multitude of apps for fitness and exercising. I’m still looking at these and have not made a choice yet. If anyone is currently using something they adore, I’d love to hear about it. My requirements are:  it must be free, it must be easy to use and if it can keep a history, that would be great. If it resembled this pin, it would be perfect, I think (http://www.pinterest.com/pin/280278776783447657/)

My research, from places not always Nerd Fitness, has revealed that I need to incorporate some new habits. New habits for me are incredibility hard to establish. Steve to the rescue again (http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2012/06/04/new-habits/). Over the past two months I have begun journaling my food intake. I write down everything I eat and drink. Just a minute and I’ll explain. Sources such as  Shape Magazine, Women’s Fitness and many others promote low calories diets, excercise, and way too many ‘beauty tips’. Sigh. I started my new food plan by eliminating grease. It’s not as easy as I had hoped. As long as I’m at home, I’m golden. It’s when I’m out or short on time that I drop the ball. I have deduced from said research that a little of this plan, a little of that plan, a pinch of that. Anyway. gluten free and paleo seem to be what I need to strive for. The bad news is, I’m a huge carb addict. I can do anything with Babysteps. Right Steve? My first babystep was to eliminate white potatoes and white bread. I usually eat wheat bread anyway so that was actually fairly easy. Potatoes is an entirely different story.    I started a point system for myself. I’m really bad at remembering to take my medicine. Some of which are required. I now get a point for taking my medicine. I get a point for eating breakfast. I get another point for eating breakfast before noon. (Working second shift delays my day. Don’t judge.) I get a point for not eating grease, white potatoes, white bread, white rice and pasta. I lose a both for eating any of the above. I lose a point for eating after midnight. Working second shift makes that on many nights, challenging.  I also instituted a ‘free’ day. Sunday is the day that I can eat the above outlawed items. (I’ve always taken great pleasure in being a Rebel.) After two weeks of ‘free’ days, I realized that one day of  free-for-all was destroying my entire week of success. So I adjusted my ‘free’ days to now consist of one serving of white potatoes or pasta and one serving of white bread (usually hot from the oven garlic bread /drool). I also allow myself one dessert on Sunday. Along with writing down my food intake, I am also writing my exercise efforts. Whether its a walk through the mall with Babygurl, walking the dog, pushups, squats, whatever. A long, long time ago with a body long gone, I was an avid powerlifter. Body weight exercises just don’t do it for me. I feel like I’m not making any progress. 

Which brings me back to my journaling. I notate all food and drink that I eat. I notate all exercise in the form of what i did, how long I did it, and/or how many times I did it. (Refer to the pin referenced in the first paragraph) I suffer general random thoughts. Often. If I have a thought concerning fitness or health, I write it in my journal to pursue later.

I wanted to lose 20 pounds before I started a fitness plan. I’ve nearly reached that goal so my research into fitness plans has kicked off. Steve has a great starter routine (http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2009/12/09/beginner-body-weight-workout-burn-fat-build-muscle/) that I plan on beginning on 13 January 2014. Just to get my toes wet as they say.

So here are my goals, not in any particular order: (http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2011/01/03/how-to-not-suck-at-goal-setting/)

  1. Lose 20 pounds to start a physical plan has been met. My adjusted goal is to lose another 20 pounds but since muscle weighs more than fat, I don’t want to set myself up for failure from the start. My adjusted goal is continue losing body fat, bench 150 pounds, squat 200 pounds and dead lift 250 pounds by 1 April 2014. These lifts need to be for reps and not just a single test.
  2. To dwindle down more ‘gluten’ in pursuit of gluten free. I currently have a ‘compromise’ food in tortillas for white bread. I’d like to get down to having tortillas once a day only by 1 April 2014.
  3. I’ve dramatically increased my protein intake. I’d like to continue that and strive for more protein than fat and carbs.
  4. I want to accomplish some kind of exercise 5 days a week. 3 of those 5 days should be a weighlifting program.
  5. I want to begin a running program to eventually do the Disney Half Marathon with the Princess. By 1 April, I want to be running more than walking.

This time, I will succeed. http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2012/05/17/this-time-its-different/

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

